Home > News > Five bid for Suffolk highways contract

Five bid for Suffolk highways contract

25 August 2012

Share this article:share on twitter share on facebook

FIVE bidders have successfully made it through to the next stage of the process to decide who will maintain Suffolk’s roads in the future.

The successful private company will be responsible for work such as repairing potholes, gritting winter roads and carrying out routine maintenance for at least the next five years.

The companies going through to the next phase of the bidding are:

· Amey

· Balfour Beatty Workplace

· Carillion/Mott MacDonald

· Enterprise Mouchel

· MGWSP (May Gurney/WSP).

Councillor Guy McGregor, Suffolk County Council’s cabinet member for roads, planning and transport, said:

“The current arrangements for our highways maintenance already includes using both external contractors together with in house expertise, but this move will create a joined up and coherent arrangement for the service in the future. The important point to stress is that from a public point of view, the contract arrangement will secure high standards for Suffolk roads and improvements will continue to be made in the county.

“We have been clear that we will retain our area offices to keep local relationships for parishes and town councils for highways matters and by working with Norfolk County Council as a neighbouring authority also going through this process, we have shared learning to make sure that we get the best deal for Suffolk’s residents.”

From April 2013, the selected company is expected to save council tax payers £4.5 million each year.

All five companies made it through the short listing process after Suffolk County Council felt the quality of each submission was sufficiently high to warrant keeping them all in. The decision means more competition for those left in the process.

The council will invite all five companies for their final submissions in mid September.

The county council’s Cabinet will decide on the award of the contract at its meeting on 11 December.